Archived Faculty and Staff Spotlights

Southern Illinois University



Archived outstanding faculty and staff recognition

Sandie M. Bass-Ringdahl an Inaugual Recipient of
DR. MARK AND SUSAN ASHLEY Endowed Professorship + -

Sandie M. Bass-Ringdahl

Dr. Sandie M. Bass-Ringdahl, Assistant Professor in the Communication Disorders and Sciences program, is the Mark and Susan Ashley Endowed Professor in Audiology. She received her Ph.D. in Speech and Hearing Science from The University of Iowa, her M.A. in Audiology from Louisiana State University, and her B.A. in Speech Pathology and Audiology from the University of Florida. Before joining the faculty at SIU, Dr. Bass-Ringdahl was on faculty in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders at The University of Iowa. During that time, she worked closely with the cochlear implant program in the Department of Otolaryngology as well as with Iowa's Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. Dr. Bass-Ringdahl is a licensed audiologist in the state of Iowa. Her research interests include the early speech development of young children with hearing loss, cochlear implants, and the early identification and intervention of hearing impairment.

Kenneth O. Simpson an Inaugual Recipient of
DR. MARK AND SUSAN ASHLEY Endowed Professorship + -

Kenneth O. Simpson

Dr. Kenneth O. Simpson, the Coordinator and Associate Professor of the Communication Disorders and Sciences (CDS) Program, is the Mark and Susan Ashley Endowed Professor in Speech Pathology. He has been a member of the faculty at SIUC since 1994 and was awarded the Rehabilitation Institute Teacher of the Year Award in 1998. Dr. Simpson serves as the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) program director for the CDS graduate program. Prior to earning his Ph.D. at the University of Nebraska, he worked for 12 years in northern Iowa as a public school speech-language pathologist. Dr. Simpson has been certified by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association as a speech-language pathologist since 1980. His primary research areas of interest are augmentative and alternative communication, interaction analysis, and the social use of language for those with severe expressive communication impairments.

Jan Waggoner University Woman of Distinction + -

Jan WaggonerAwards for Research, Scholarly, and Creative Activity Award 2011/2012

Sponsored by University Women’s Professional Advancement Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies and American Association of University Women

Congratulations Jan Waggoner, Director of Teacher Education in the College of Education and Human Services, who has been named a 2012 University Woman of Distinction. Award by University Women’s Professional Advancement. Jan is among three who were honored this Thursday, March 8th at the Celebrate Women Luncheon in the University's Student Center.

Other awardees from the College of Education and Human Services were Deborah Seltzer-Kelly Assistant Professor (Department of Curriculum and Instruction) “Apophatic Listening and the Acquisition of Tacit Knowledge” Research, Scholarly, and Creative Activity Award and Courtney Kisat (History) Elizabeth Eames Women’s Studies Graduate Scholarship Award.

Emeritus John Benshoff receives DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARD + -

John Benshoff

John Benshoff, former Director of the Rehabilitation Institute, was named recipient of the DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARD by the National Council on Rehabilitation Education (NCRE). His lifetime accomplishments were recognized at the NCRE Conference that took place last Spring in Manhattan Beach, California.