Advisory Board of Teacher Education | TEP | EHS | SIU

Southern Illinois University



Teacher Education Program

College of Education and Human Services

Advisory Board for Teacher Education

Advisory Board of Teacher Education (ABTE)

The COEHS values the collaboration and support of our P-12 school partners to ensure that high quality clinical practice is central to our educator preparation programs.

The Advisory Board for Teacher Education consists of unit faculty as well as P-12 teachers and administrators, and meets three times a year to discuss and share responsibility for continuous improvement of our candidate preparation.

The Board is involved in analysis of multiple measures of candidate progress and completer achievements in order to evaluate programs, make recommendations for improvement, and identify models of excellence.

Julie Bohnsack
SIU Instructor and P-12 educator (retired)

Daniel Booth (not pictured)
Superintendent, Carbondale Elementary District #95
Carbondale, IL

Dr. Andrea Brown
Illinois State Board of Education (retired)
Springfield, IL

Cheryl Graff
Regional Superintendent ROE#30
Murphysboro, IL

Crystal Housman (not pictured)
Principal, Cobden Junior and Senior High School
Cobden, IL

Dr. Nancy Mundschenk, Board Chair
Director of Teacher Education, SIU

Crystal Shelby-Caffey (not pictured)
SIU Faculty

Gerald Speith
Clinical Supervisor, SIU

Mr. Nathaniel Wilson
Superintendent/Principal, DeSoto Grade School
DeSoto, IL

Julie Wittenborn-Sikorski
Murphysboro, IL